>Three minutes of life

>The longest I  have really “lived” in my 21 years of walking, talking, eating, pooping, breathing, on this earth is a meagre few hours. Yep, no kidding. Today, I lived for precisely three minutes.


 Know how everyone reminisces about their childhood- how beautiful it was, and how great everything was… How the food they tasted then, they can’t seem to have it now. It’s not that these things disappear when people grow old. People stop noticing them.


 When we are little, life has not yet lost its charm on us. We like everything new, and do everything with a sense of adventure and with all our attention. We pay attention. When we grow up, our minds are occupied with mundanities of “real” life that the simple act of “being” is pushed far back into the oblivion. When we do stop, we wonder where time went!


Time is right there in front of our noses which are buried so deep into mundanities of life that “we” fly by time. I stopped today. I felt the sunlight on my feet, wind on my face, listened to the sound of people talking, birds chirping; tasted the tea bit by bit and sip by sip, and eyed the wonderful thing which we call life. I lived a beautiful three minutes today.

20 Comments

Filed under Tehmina

20 responses to “>Three minutes of life

  1. >:) i think im going to start focusing on the minutes in my day too πŸ™‚

  2. >zabardust…..i might have lived 1 min today ;)…

  3. >Reminds me of the quote that goes something like this, "Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away." Thanks for sharing the link..keep it up!! πŸ™‚

  4. >:) The minutes make my days grow longer.

  5. >well thats what i was looking for … i think i lost my charm in life… but its a good way of getting it back… will try to focus on the little details now …

  6. >Life to me has taken a different angle..It aint no more about the world around us.. the sun shines bright or the clouds take over.. The birds chirp or the crow caws.. many of us have to get up do our jobs daily.. listen complains and Criticisms.. In all this when one person smiles or appreciates even with only a friendly nod.. I live..

  7. >Ayaz when I say, life, I am referring to the state of "being". Living, using all our senses to see. Faizan it helps me. Maybe it will work for you too.

  8. >good to see the english comprehension exam had an effect on u πŸ˜€

  9. >I lived 3 minutes and 1 second. Haha, beat you! πŸ˜‰

  10. >Awe!! I envy you Karim πŸ˜‰

  11. >lash pash :PI am stealing it !!!

  12. >Had ho tum yaar… zabardast..

  13. >a fantastic observance of his own importance

  14. >good job lady !where do u get these ideas from???any how , i will actually be practicing the therapy right from tomorrow :)best wishes !Ahsan Raza Firdousi

  15. >Omair, stealing for what? Let me know! πŸ™‚ Anonymous 1, Thank you! Anonymous 2, you mean my importance? Or the importance of life?

  16. >Ahsan Bhai, lets see how that works for you! Thank you! πŸ™‚

  17. >Act as if it is your last day of life, believe me you would never lose these three minutes. Anyway an interesting piece of writing, keep sharing. πŸ™‚

  18. >Hey. I just ran across your blog on an old friend's profile. I'm a very critical critic πŸ˜› but I went through some of your posts and I liked them! Good job. I especially liked this – how many of us take time out to smell the roses? But we should. Very nicely written πŸ™‚ I hope you always remember to stop and appreciate the good things with zeal and never forget to truly 'live' no matter how busy things get or how old you grow :)Shumaila H

  19. >Well! Shumaila I hope you keep reading and thank you for liking it. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

